2017 All-Ireland Senior Football Championship at The Local

2017 All-Ireland Senior Football Championship at The Local

This coming Sunday, the 17th September, one of the great days in the CaraIrishPubs sporting calendar takes place. The 2017 All-Ireland Senior Football Championship Final will be broadcast live at 09:30am from Croke Park, Dublin. This year’s final features the same two protagonists from last year, Mayo and Dublin. This is the 130th playing of the final and is one of the most important days in Irish sport and all roads in the Twin Cities lead to The Local.

This year’s final is the fourth time that these two teams have clashed in the All-Ireland. Last year’s game proved to be an epic when a replay was needed to separate the teams. The clubs also contested the 2013 final and then we need to go back almost a century to the1921 final for their first meeting confrontation.  Dublin are aiming for their third All-Ireland in a row, while Mayo aim for their first All-Ireland since 1951. The Connacht County has now lost eight finals since their last success,

Last year Dublin defeated Mayo by a single point after a pulsating replay. The first game was tied 0-15 to 2-09, and Dublin received the Sam Maguire trophy for the second time in as many years after the replayed game finished with the score at 1-15 to 1-14. It was the first time Dublin, as defending champions, had retained the trophy since the 1977 final. Dublin’s win in 2016 was their 26th in total. Dublin’s John Small and Michael Fitzsimons took the man of the match awards in the two games. Continue Reading

Did you know?

Garry McMahon (1937-2008) scored the fastest goal in the history of the All-Ireland Senior Football Championship. In the 1962 final he scored after 35 seconds